31 Comments
Feb 11Liked by Kathy Fish

The end of Moonstruck, when all of the family gather in the kitchen, Cher, Nicolas Cage, Olympia Dukakis, and Danny Aiello says to Cher, “I must talk to you in private,” and she says, “No, I must have my family around me,” and vows are broken, and made, and transgressions resolved, and the dogs bark, and the old Italian grandfather cries, because he doesn’t understand what’s happening, but he knows it’s something good, and everyone toasts with champagne. The warmth in that scene makes me want a seat at that table.

Expand full comment
author

Yes! A great ending. I love that movie!

Expand full comment

Dead Poet’s Society. Some of the students take a risk and stand on their desks in support of their teacher.

Expand full comment

I love this movie!

Expand full comment

So satisfying!

Expand full comment

One of my all time favorite movies is WILLY WONKA AND THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY (the original one with Gene Wilder) and when Charlie ends up with the factory at the end and helping his family to live a better life.

Expand full comment
Feb 11Liked by Kathy Fish

So, this isn't from me, but from my friend. We were talking about this, and I was drawing blanks, and she said "well, what about Shawshank Redemption?" Honestly, I don't think i can improve on that one.

Expand full comment
Feb 11Liked by Kathy Fish

Favorite is such a strong word. The movie that comes to mind first is Woody Allen's version of Street Car Named Desire, called "Blue Jasmine" -----He leaves it open-ended, and thats how life is-----had fun thinking about different endings for the characters.

Expand full comment
Feb 11·edited Feb 11Liked by Kathy Fish

Yes, open ended in one way or another,

Perhaps because I'm a Brit of a certain age, the earlier replies make me a bit queasy. No offence intended - we're all different (chacun son goût and all that).

Expand full comment
Feb 11Liked by Kathy Fish

The ending of "It's a Wonderful Life" has always been a favorite, even if it's a bit predictable. Also a big fan of Dead Poet's Society. Great pick, Jeff. :-)

Expand full comment

"The Shape of Water" had a memorable romantic ending. Hitchcock-"The Birds" or "Rear Window." Campion's "The Piano."

Expand full comment
Feb 12Liked by Kathy Fish

Yes to all of those, especially 'The Birds'. The suggestion that the story continues, that what we've seen in the film is part of a much larger whole.

Expand full comment
author

Oh man, yes.

Expand full comment
Feb 11Liked by Kathy Fish

The Royal Tenenbaums. One of my favorite movies and I won't tell the ending in case you haven't seen it. I rarely rewatch a movie, but I've watched this one about 6 times.

Expand full comment
Feb 11Liked by Kathy Fish

I fell in love with an ending I just saw: not a film, but the finale of season 3 of TV series Killing Eve. The push-pull of the magnet relationship between the two MCs is so powerful, off-kilter, constantly surprising, totally hypnotic! Such great writing...

Expand full comment
Feb 12Liked by Kathy Fish

So...Luke Jennings,who wrote Killing Eve, has a 'stack where he is not only serializing a new Killing Eve story, but also providing writing advice, if you are so inclined. If you go back to the beginning of the new story and start reading, I doubt you will be able to stop.:https://open.substack.com/pub/killingeve?r=zbfj&utm_medium=ios

Expand full comment

Thanks Geoff! I’ll go and have a look.

Expand full comment
Feb 11Liked by Kathy Fish

I'd say my favorite ending of a very recent movie (Saltburn) is when the character played by Barry Keoghan dances naked through a house he's, ahem, inherited. It's a dark comedy that has a Talented Mr. Ripley vibe. And the song he dances to, Murder on the Dance Floor, came out in 2001 but is having a resurgence because of this movie. Which reminds me of the resurgence of Kate Bush's Running Up That Hill because it was featured in Stranger Things. Art helping art!

Expand full comment

I was literally just about to put this!! It was pure genius to use Murder On The Dance Floor in that scene.

Expand full comment

!!!

Expand full comment

the one that comes to mind is Bathsheba and Gabriel (1967 version) at the end of far from the madding crowd..'when I look up, there ye be, when you look up there I be'

Expand full comment

I love happy endings and one of my favourites is from one of my favourite movies, The Peanut Butter Falcon. They are heading off to a new life together and creating their own version of family 🥰

Expand full comment

Casablanca. Always.

And Thelma and Louise. Though I guess only satisfying if you believe that they bounce...

Expand full comment
Feb 12Liked by Kathy Fish

One film ending I love is from The Long Good Friday. Bob Hoskins is a crime boss Harry Shand, who at the end of the movie gets into a car and quickly realises he has been kidnapped (by a young Pierce Brosnan!). There’s no dialogue, simply the character cycling through emotions and working out how this will all end in his inevitable demise. A classic case of everything being implied. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ldZUQFr_9k

Expand full comment

“A Room With A View” has a sweet and satisfying ending. The opening scene is mirrored at the end, but with a new group of guests staying at the pensione, and the young lovers laughing when they recognize themselves in the group.

Expand full comment
Feb 12Liked by Kathy Fish

Not my "favourite", but the last frame of 'Queen Christina' comes to mind: Garbo (always at her best still and not saying anything) stands gazing into the future on the prow of a ship taking her away from Sweden.

Actually, I've just found it online and it's more cluttered than I remember and, of course, ruined by the gouge-the-emotion-out-of-you score.

Expand full comment

Stephen King’s The Mist. I’ve never got over the end of that movie.

Expand full comment

Also Homeward Bound when Shadow comes over the hill. I actually want to cry thinking about it.

Expand full comment

My favorite movie ending is James Caan and Marsha Mason's discussing driving around the airport several times in "Chapter Two". But there is also the edited out scene in Author Author when Geraldo gets his snake while Al Pacino gets another cake in the face.

Expand full comment
author

It's been so many years since I saw Chapter Two. I'll go see if I can find a clip of the ending. Same with Author Author!

Expand full comment